STATE OF IOWA: COUNTY OF IOWA

The Iowa County Board of Supervisors met on April 25, 2025. Heitshusen, Chairman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Degen, Heitshusen, Maas, Meyer and Montross were present.

Motion by Montross, seconded by Maas to **approve** the agenda. All aye, motion carried.

Motion by Montross, seconded by Meyer to **approve** minutes for April 11, 2025. All aye, motion carried.

Chair Notes: The board approved handwritten claims paid with warrant 38405 - 38406, 38540 - 38544 and 38717 - 38718. Claims paid with warrant numbers 38407 - 38539 and payroll paid with warrant numbers 38545 - 38716. Manure Management Plans received from Edmundson, facility # 69405 and Jon Gingerich – Home Site, facility # 58585.

Nick Amelon, Iowa County Engineer, met with the board with an update on construction, road maintenance, and office miscellaneous.

Motion by Montross, seconded by Degen to approve and authorize Chairman to sign Letter of Support for paving of V Avenue, Iowa County, Iowa - W21. All aye, motion carried.

Box Letting Bids received from the following: Mid States Precast \$119,358.33; Wieser Precast \$115,200.00 and Rinker \$98,000.00.

Motion by Montross, seconded by Meyer to approve Box Letting -M - 1912 bid received from Rinker for \$98,000.00. All aye, motion carried.

Tabled item: Weed Commissioner Appointment remains tabled until further research can be done by the Iowa County Engineer regarding the pay, for time performing Weed Commissioner duties vs. other duties non-related to Weed Commissioner.

Becky Fry, Iowa County Transportation Director, met with the board to present monthly department update.

Dylan Healey, Building Maintenance was not present, due to scheduling error.

Adam Rabe, Iowa County Ambulance Director, met with the board to present monthly department update.

Recess at 9:58 a.m.

Chairman Heitshusen called meeting back to order at 10:00 a.m.

Motion by Montross, seconded by Meyer to approve Pioneer Cemetery Commission appointments and terms as follows:

1 Year Term: James Johnson, LaVerna Moser and Iowa County Supervisor, Kevin Heitshusen.

2 Year Terms: Suzanne Kabisch, Jeff Chapman and Becky Birch

3 Year Term: Vicki Davidson, Richard Uhlmann and Scott Hamlin.

An Iowa County Supervisor will be appointed annually to the Commission.

All aye, motion carried.

Motion by Meyer, seconded by Maas to pass, approve and adopt Resolution # 2025-04-25 A – MH/DS Withdraw from Mental Health/ Disability Services of the East Central Region as follows:

RESOLUTION: 2025-04-25 A Withdraw from Mental Health/Disability Services of the East Central Region

WHEREAS, Iowa law has changed such that it no longer makes sense for Iowa County to participate as a member of the Mental Health/Disability Services of the East Central Region (hereinafter, "Region").

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 3.4 (withdrawal from the Region) of the 28E agreement from Mental Health/Disability Services of the East Central Region, Iowa County, Iowa wishes to provide written notice of its intent to withdraw from the Region, effective September 1, 2025. WHEREAS, This resolution and its notice effect is pursuant to the vote on March 27, 2025 of the Region's Governing Board authorizing counties to withdraw under Section 3.4 after October 1, 2024 but still effective June 30, 2025. The effective date is set for September 1, 2025 due to the fact that Iowa County is the fiscal agent for employee salaries and that obligation does not end until September 1, 2025.

THEREFORE, pursuant to Section 5.5 of the 28E Agreement, this resolution, approved and authorized by the Iowa County Board of Supervisors, shall act as notice by forwarding this resolution to the Region's Governing Board of Iowa County's withdraw from the Region, effective September 1, 2025.

All aye, motion carried.

Discussion on the re-evaluation of General Relief Ordinance #2 and indigent burials for updates and changes.

Motion by Maas, seconded by Montross to approve and authorize Chairman to sign 28E Agreement between Millersburg and Iowa County for Law Enforcement. All aye, motion caried.

Motion by Meyer, seconded by Montross, to open Public Hearing at 10:15 a.m. All aye, motion carried.

Public comments: None

Written comments: Two written comments received from Vic Rathje with regards to number of county employees compared to 10 years ago, amount in dollars county contributes to ISAC for dues, issues ISAC had lobbied the state for, would like to discuss bond issues at a later time, number of county employees is dependent on what citizens demand from government, expressed disappointment that ISAC has not been able to help counties recover increased homestead

exemptions, does ISAC favor State Troopers, how are issues selected by ISAC, which are endorsed or opposed, bill being presented to Iowa Legislative dealing with PBM's and prescription drugs.

Motion by Maas, seconded by Montross to close Public Hearing at 10:18 a.m. All aye, motion carried.

Motion by Maas, seconded by Meyer to pass, approve and adopt Resolution 2025-04-25 – Iowa County FY26 Proposed Budget as follows:

Resolution # 2025-04-25 Iowa County FY26 Proposed Budget

WHEREAS, the Iowa County Board of Supervisors met in regular session on April 25, 2025 at 9:00 a.m. at the Iowa County East Courthouse Annex, 970 Court Avenue, Marengo, Iowa 52301.

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors did review the Budget for fiscal year July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026.

THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Board of Supervisors of Iowa County, Iowa, that the Budget for July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2026 be hereby approved and adopted.

Roll call vote:

Meyer – Aye Montross – Aye Maas – Aye Degen – Aye Heitshusen – Nay Motion carried.

No action taken on Jay O'Rourke resignation; his resignation has not been received to date.

Motion by Maas, seconded by Meyer to **appoint Dan Strohman** as Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commission member pending the resignation of Jay O'Rourke. All aye, motion carried.

Don Brown, Chief Executive Officer of RenoDry USA met with the board to present his RenoDry USA product. And went on a site visit at the Iowa County Courthouse with the Board of Supervisors, Auditor, Building Maintenance, Winona Whitaker, and Scott Hamlin.

Motion by Montross, seconded by Maas to adjourn at 10:42 a.m. All aye, motion carried.	
	Varia Haitahyaan Chairmaran
	Kevin Heitshusen, Chairperson
Brandy Enochson, Auditor	
***Minutes are unofficial unt	til approved at the next Board Meeting. ***